Seminar is over

Accelerating the transition towards sustainable transport

Energy, climate change and the environment

Place du Congres 1 - 1000 Brussels

Participation in this event is free of charge. Registration is required to participate.


Accelerating the transition towards sustainable transport

SET-Nav Stakeholder workshop


CEPS is part of the project of SET-Nav – Navigating the Roadmap for Clean, Secure and Efficient Energy Innovation. SET-Nav started in April 2016 and is co-funded by the EU Horizon 2020 programme.

The SET-Nav project has the overarching goal of supporting strategic decision making in Europe’s energy sector, enhancing innovation towards a clean, secure and efficient energy system, financed by the European Commission’s EU Horizon 2020 programme. Several bottom-up case studies are assessed as part of the project, defined to deal with definitive policy related questions of technology development in specific fields and this workshop will present results from the case study on ways to a cleaner and smarter transport sector.

As opposed to other energy sectors, final energy consumption of the European transport sector has continuously increased over the last decade. Despite having a very innovative transport industry investing a lot in research and development with policies designed to foster the shift towards energy efficient and renewable energy carriers, the transport sector is still strongly based on fossil fuels. With this in mind, the SET-Nav consortium aims to answer the question: what measures can be in place to accelerate the transition of the transport sector towards a low-carbon system that can additionally provide further flexibility option with regards to the energy sector?

The fourth SET-Nav Stakeholder workshop on the topic “Accelerating the transition towards sustainable transport” will be organised on the 14th May 2018 in CEPS, Brussels.

Click here for the agenda.

For more information about the workshop and CEPS’ role in the SET-Nav project, please connect

Speakers list
Robert Missen

Head of Unit, DG MOVE, European Commission

Stephanie Heitel

Scientific Associate, Fraunhofer ISI

Patrick Akerman

Business Developer eHighway, Siemens